On 22 April, the Government decided to extend the restrictions on entry into the country until 25 May 2021. No substantive changes were made to the decisions taken on 31 March. The decisions will enter into force on 26 April.

The COVID-19 pandemic continues to spread, and we do not yet have adequate measures available to replace the restrictions. For this reason, and to curb the spread of COVID-19 variants, both internal border controls and restrictions on external border traffic will continue, said in a press release.

Lapland and other border traffic 

In addition to the restrictions on internal and external border traffic, restrictions on the opening hours of certain border crossing points at the western border in Lapland and the eastern border will continue. At the border crossing points that are open to passenger traffic, the accepted criteria for entry are the return of persons living in Finland or in another EU or Schengen country and other essential reasons.

The Gulf of Finland Coast Guard District will continue providing information to passengers seeking to enter Finland at the Port of Tallinn. In accordance with the current operating procedure, the District’s guardsmen have been informing passengers about the conditions for entry since September 2020. The aim is to ensure that border checks in Helsinki go smoothly and that passengers will not be turned away at the Finnish border. For example, a holiday or work other than tasks that are considered essential from the perspective of security of supply or the functioning of society does not entitle travellers to enter the country even if they have a negative COVID-19 test certificate.

Finland restricts entry from all other Schengen countries except Iceland

Internal border traffic refers to traffic between Finland and other Schengen countries. Finland continues to restrict entry from all other Schengen countries except Iceland. The Schengen countries are Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden, which are EU Member States, as well as Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland, which are non-EU countries.

Restrictions on external border traffic to continue without changes

External border traffic refers to traffic between Finland and non-Schengen third countries. Restrictions have already been lifted earlier for traffic arriving in Finland from the Vatican, and for traffic between Finland and Australia, South Korea, Singapore, Rwanda, Thailand and New Zealand for residents of these countries. Entry from these low-risk countries is not restricted due to the low incidence of COVID-19.

For other countries, the restrictions on entry will be extended until 25 May 2021.

Cruise vessels are permitted to call at ports but passengers are not allowed to come ashore.


Spread the love