Finland Lifted Travel Bans For 23 countries, 11 more Allowed For Work

Finland Inari Lapland Travel in Summer- Picture by Jasim Sarker

Finland opens border for more countries and the travel restrictions are lifted up altogether with 23 countries. Essential and work related travel will be allowed for 11 countries including Japan, Australia and China. The new changes will be effective from 13 July.

The restrictions are  Finnish government will continue to assess the overall corona epidemic situation in the Schengen area and the European Union member states until 27 July and will update the list of countries based on the development of the epidemic at that time.

Latest updates of travel restrictions:

Finnish government updated policies on border issues today 8 July. Based on the current development of the epidemic, border control at the internal borders would be lifted for the following countries: the Netherlands, Belgium, Italy, Austria, Greece, Malta, Germany, Slovakia, Slovenia, Hungary, Liechtenstein and Switzerland. Finland has already abolished internal border control for traffic between Finland and Norway, Denmark, Iceland, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania as well as for leisure boating. 

According to the Government’s policy, unrestricted travel will be permitted between Finland and Cyprus, Ireland, Andorra, San Marino and the Vatican. 

Restrictions for other EU countries:

The restrictions will continue to be in force to the extent that they are still necessary due to a serious threat posed by the epidemiological situation. Based on the current epidemiological assessment, internal border control and restrictions on entry into the country will continue at the land border between Finland and Sweden and for travel between Finland and the Czech Republic, France, Luxembourg, Poland, Portugal, Spain and Sweden.

External border traffic: 

External border traffic between Finland and EU countries that do not belong to the Schengen area, as well as Great Britain, Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican, will be subject to the same assessment criterion concerning the incidence of outbreaks as internal border traffic. In this case, in line with the Government’s policy, unrestricted travel will be permitted between Finland and Cyprus, Ireland, Andorra, San Marino and the Vatican

The restrictions will continue to be in force for travel between Finland and Bulgaria, Croatia, Romania, Great Britain and Monaco.

Work & other purposes travel to Finland:

As of 13 July, travel between Finland and Algeria, Australia, Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay and China would be permitted for work and other essential purposes for residents of these countries with similar restrictions as travel at internal borders. 

If the epidemic situation so permits, the Government will review its decisions on border traffic restrictions in two weeks’ time and, if necessary, make new decisions. The next changes in border traffic are scheduled to enter into force on 27 July.

Spread the love