Finland Travel Restrictions

On 3 June, the Government decided to extend the restrictions on entry into the country until 27 June 2021. These will enter into force on 7 June. 

In addition to the restrictions on internal and external border traffic, restrictions on the opening hours of certain border crossing points at the western border in Lapland and the eastern border will continue. At the border crossing points for passenger traffic on land and water, the accepted criteria for entry are the return of persons living in Finland or in another EU or Schengen country and other essential reasons. At the border crossing points for passenger air traffic, another accepted criterion for entry is travel for work.

Travel for work will be allowed in air traffic between EU countries or Schengen countries

Internal border traffic refers to traffic between Finland and other Schengen countries. From now on, travel for work will be allowed in air traffic between EU countries or Schengen countries. Students will be allowed entry for purposes of training included in their studies.

In water transport and on land borders (with the exception of border community traffic between Finland and Norway), travel for work will still be allowed for essential reasons only. Essential reasons mean work that is important for the functioning of society or the security of supply or certain specifically defined special groups. Restrictions were lifted earlier for residents of border communities between Finland and Norway.

Based on an epidemiological assessment, internal border control is lifted from travel between Finland and Malta. Finland now restricts entry from all other Schengen countries except Iceland and Malta. The Schengen countries are Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden, which are EU Member States, as well as Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland, which are non-EU countries.

The restrictions do not apply to leisure boating between Schengen countries. 

Finland Restrictions on external border traffic remain unchanged 

External border traffic refers to traffic between Finland and non-Schengen third countries. The Government decision of 20 May will be specified so that non-Finnish citizens living in another EU or Schengen country are not allowed to return to their country of residence through Finland if the transit is not work related. This does not apply to air traffic. Based on an epidemiological assessment, no other amendments will be made to the decision.

Restrictions have been lifted earlier for traffic arriving in Finland from the Vatican, and for traffic between Finland and Australia, South Korea, Israel, Singapore, Rwanda and New Zealand for residents of these countries. Entry from these low-risk countries is not restricted due to the low incidence of COVID-19.

For other countries, the restrictions on entry will be extended until 27 June 2021.

Cruise vessels are permitted to call at ports but passengers are not allowed to come ashore.

Definition of family broadened 

The definition of family will be broadened for travel across internal and external borders. At internal borders, family means from now on spouse, children, grandchildren, parents, parents-in-law, grandparents, siblings, great-grandchildren, uncles, aunts and cousins, and family members of those listed above. 

At external borders, family means spouse, children, parents, parents-in-law and grandparents, and family members of those listed above.

The Finnish Border Guard gives people advice on cross-border traffic by phone and email. The service is available in Finnish, Swedish and English on weekdays between 8.00 and 16.00 at +358 295 420 100. Questions can also be sent by email to

Our lapland website blog Finnish Lapland cover

Spread the love